Patient-Oriented Health Economics Virtual Mixer

The University of British Columbia’s Social & Economic Change (SE-Change) laboratory is hosting a virtual Patient-Oriented Health Economics Virtual Mixer with three, 10-minute keynote talks from internationally renowned experts in the field.

A panel discussion relevant to researchers, clinicians, health policy decision makers and knowledge users will follow.

Save the Date

October 21, 2020 PST/MDT/EDT/BST

1:30pm – 2:45pm PST
2:30pm – 3:45pm MDT
4:30pm – 5:45pm EDT
9:30pm – 10:45pm BST

October 22, 2020 ACDT/AEDT

7:00am – 8:15am ACDT
7:30am – 8:45am AEDT

View in your timezone


Keynote Speakers

Julie Ratcliffe

Professor Julie Ratcliffe


Talk title:
Does one size fit all? Assessing the preferences of older and younger people for attributes of quality of life


About

Professor Julie Ratcliffe research interests include the measurement and valuation of health and quality of life outcomes, patient and consumer preferences and the economic evaluation of interventions across health and social care sectors. Professor Ratcliffe is a Mathew Flinders Fellow and Professor of Health Economics in the College of Nursing and Health Sciences. She is the Health and Social Care Economics Theme Lead for the newly established Caring Futures Institute, Flinders University and also holds Honorary Professorial positions in the Institute of Health and Wellbeing at the University of Glasgow and the School of Health and Related Research at the University of Sheffield. During the course of her career, Professor Ratcliffe has published over 200 papers in peer reviewed journals and she has been a chief investigator on over 50 multi-disciplinary research grants including grants awarded by the NHMRC and ARC in Australia and the MRC and ESRC in the UK.

More about Professor Julie Ratcliffe

Stirling Bryan

Professor Stirling Bryan


Talk title:
Health economic evaluation, health
policy decisions: a patient oriented approach


About

Professor Stirling Bryan is a health economist with extensive experience of engagement with the policy and decision-making world. His research track-record reveals a long-standing goal of informing policy and practice, demonstrated, in part, through extensive engagement with the National Institute for Health & Care Excellence (NICE). He led the University of Birmingham team that conducted economic analyses for NICE. In 2005 he was awarded a Commonwealth Fund Harkness Fellowship and spent one year at Stanford University. He immigrated to Canada in 2008, taking on the role of Director of the Centre for Clinical Epidemiology & Evaluation. Dr. Bryan has become a strong advocate for, and practitioner of, patient-oriented research, and now partners with patients in all of his research activities. In 2016, he was appointed Scientific Director for the BC SUPPORT Unit, an operational unit of the BC Academic Health Science Network (BC AHSN), focused on promoting patient-oriented research. In 2020, he became President of BC AHSN.

More about Professor Stirling Bryan

Joanna Coast

Professor Joanna Coast


Talk title:
A life-course approach to measuring capability for economic evaluation of health and social care interventions


About

Professor Joanna Coast’s research interests lie in the theory underlying economic evaluation (including capability), developing broader measures of outcome for use in economic evaluation, health care decision making. She currently holds a Wellcome Investigator Award to develop a life-course approach to measuring capability for economic evaluation of health and social care interventions.  Professor Coast also has a methodological interest in the use of qualitative methods in health economics and is recognised as an international authority in this field; her edited book on Qualitative Methods for Health Economics was published in July 2017. Joanna Coast is Professor in the Economics of Health & Care.  She has published more than 140 research papers in academic journals. She has received major grants from the Medical Research Council and the European Research Council, and currently holds a Wellcome Investigator Award. She is Senior Editor, Health Economics for Social Science and Medicine.

More about Professor Joanna Coast


Registration information

The mixer will take place online, via Zoom.

Register for the mixer


This event is hosted in part by CIHR’s IMHA and by UBC-O Faculty of Management Social and Economic (SE) – Change Lab

View event poster